Coventry's Music Board members announced


Coventry City of Culture Trust today announces a group of 13 music industry and creative professionals that have been chosen as the inaugural members of the Coventry Music Board – the first of its kind locally – selected to grow Coventry’s identity as a city of music, to shine a light on the city’s musical past and future, and to nurture talent and promote inclusivity.

The members, which bring together different experiences of the local and national music industry, reflect the diversity of the city and its musical offering, and will serve for a one-year term on a voluntary basis. One member will represent the city on the West Midlands Music Board to encourage the region-wide success of the music sector.

Applicants were assessed by an expert panel on their achievements in the music sector, their leadership skills, and their cultural backgrounds, in order to bring together a variety of voices following a public call for nominations led by Coventry City of Culture Trust.

The board is independent and will serve and champion the whole of Coventry’s music sector. The Trust is undertaking a  supporting role  in overseeing the board’s initial setup and coordination.

Chenine Bhathena, Creative Director of Coventry City of Culture Trust said: “The new Coventry Music Board reflects our values of inclusivity, diversity and creativity. We have a brilliant group of individuals who are committed to making change happen in the city and who represent artists, venues, music businesses, sound technicians, community leaders, community radio and music educators.

“Responding to an open call, any music leaders in the city put themselves forward to be part of this new Board, to support the future of music in the city.

“This group will work to combine the legacy of Coventry’s musical identity with its exciting future to ensure a strong pipeline of emerging talent, with a focus on ensuring the appropriate infrastructure is in place necessary for a thriving sector and reinforcing our status as a hotbed of music innovation.”

The board was chosen by a panel which included Ammo Talwar MBE, Director of Punch Records and chair of UK Music Diversity Taskforce; Abz Winters, Coventry singer/songwriter; Dave Marshall Barrett, BBC CWR presenter and music teacher; and Cara Pickering, Founder of Block Radio and Visual Arts Programme Producer at Coventry City of Culture Trust.

The first Coventry Music Board are:

Alun Roberts – Owner of Just Dropped In Record Shop

Andrew Fletcher – Programme Manager at Warwick Arts Centre

Bassam Naaquib – Venue and Event Manager working across Coventry and London for more than 25 years

Claire Tyler – Learning and Development Lead for Coventry Music

Colin Bell – Chair of the Coventry Caribbean Association

David King – Radio Presenter and Vice Chair of the Hillz FM Steering Committee

Derek Nisbet – Composer and Co-Artistic Director of Talking Birds

Hannah Pierce – General Manager at Draper’s Hall

Laura Birkin – Sound Engineer at The Tin Music and Arts

Lauren Joyce – Multidisciplinary Artist, DJ and Media Professional

Matthew Cossey – Pianist and Assistant Principal & Creative Director at Nexus Institute of Creative Arts

Reid Currie – Songwriter and member of Coventry band The Institutes

Sarah Morgan – Director of The Tin Music and Arts

This project has been made possible by funding from The Radcliffe Trust.